Sunday, April 25, 2010

Date Night Rollercoaster ride

Well it has been a loong time since I have posted something, I either haven't had the time or when I do have time I've been too exausted to come on the computer and write something. Well I can't say I have been too busy, I'd say vinny and I have been about average busy, but its just this silly old laptop that we have...it's sooooo slow and it probably has a million viruses on it so anti-virus websites pop up every second click i make so it makes it not worth the hassel to go online most times. But I'm here now and ready to ramble on about our shenanigans of the month.
Oh and this pic is just a picture we took today after church, I was wearing his "Africa" t-shirt for fun and he said I looked like mama africa...he was just joking i think...

It's sunday evening and vinny is testing out his new oil paintings in the study room so I am ultimately bored out of my brains and refuse to turn on the t.v since I have tried to put my foot down on "No T.V on Sundays!" thats my motto and I will try to stick to it as best I can, wether it means I be bored out of my mind!! It is really hard cos we watched t.v on sundays at home growing up cos dad loves tv. I like watching movies (on normal days) and vinny especially loves tv too, he always asks to turn on the tv on sundays and I cringe at the thort of it because the thing is...as soon as the tv comes on the noise just takes away from that peaceful calm reverence that you have been feeling the whole day and I don't like it at all.

Anyway, so since moving into our new house and with better work opportunities Vinny and I have decided that we want to try and have a date night every friday nights. We have been married four months now and have ONLY just started. Winter semester just ended and our schedules could not permit us to have the time together on the weekends to have a date night so it really reall sucked! But its spring time now, things have changed and we now are able to go out friday nights which is music to my ears!

I would have to admit our first date night was one week ago, last friday, not this friday gone but the one before it, well it didn't go the way we planned. We had planned to catch the bus into ala moana,go shopping and get a list of important things for the house such as printing out wedding photo's and buying frames to put up around the house, then going to Rosses cos Vinny wanted to look around in there, then we go looking in sum shops in ala moana for me cos I am lacking in the clothes department and really need to amp up my wardrobe just a tiny bit, THEN go eat at the top floor of ala moana THEN catch the last bus at 10.13pm back to Laie.

So we caught the bus ontime and arrived in Ala moana around 7pm, we had already determined a budget but I wanted to go over everything again in my head so I was thinking out loud and was saying stuff like 'okay we have this money put away for groceries.....we have this amount put away for tithing...we have this much put away for etc...." you get the picture, so anyway vinny gets annoyed because to him we had already gone thru where all our money needed to go and we had already determined how much we could spend tonight. I didn't realize it had annoyed him so much so i kept processing the budget in my mind (but out loud) when I came to the conclusion that we had enough I felt fine and we could go to walmart and check off the first thing on our list to print wedding photo's. I felt we were strapped for time since it was already 7pm...we only had 2 hours to go to walmart, Rosses, Ala moana mall so I start booking it to Walmart and doing what I'm gud at..and thats ducking and weaving thru pedestrian traffic to get to my destination. I look behind me and vinny is lagging wayyy behind so I stop for a minute to let him catchup but he is jus strolling along like he has no care in the world and im like "we need to hurry up". We get to Walmart and I see he is annoyed, I honestly have no idea why...i start to think that its because he is tired since he had worked a full 8 hours that day so I try to let it pass and get on with our business.

By the time we get done with choosing which foto's to develope its like 7.45pm and we had to be back in walmart to pick up our foto's at 8.30pm. We then come to the conclusion that we wont have time to go to ala moana shops and will have to just go to Rosses instead, which to be honest i was really really disappointed about because I didn't want to go to Rosses in the first place. I feel that sometimes vinny doesn't quite realize the things he says to me sometimes and what kind of impression he makes on me. Leading up to our friday date night he was like 'yeah you should buy you a nice outfit for church or something' and stuff like 'we should go shopping in ala moana friday night for you for clothes and then go eat afterwards' SOOOOO i guess i took him too literally and believed that we were going to do that, I knew we wouldnt get to ala moana till after 7pm so i knew we would have hardly any time to really go shopping and so for him to add in that he wanted to go to Rosses 'just to look around' made me pissed cos im like duude i wana go to ala moana to shop and spend my time wisely on looking for clothes that I need, not waste time in a huge store just for your convenience and with the 50/50 chance that you MIGHT buy something...I know im sounding like a selfish brat right now but you need to understand that vinny has a wardrobe of clothes that is rediculously huge in comparison to some other peoples such as mine.....I mean...I have to wash my clothes at the end of the week cos I don't have enough to last for the next week...i'm hoping this blog is so long right now that people would've quit reading at this point so they don't have to hear me confess that lol.....

So anyway either you feel my pain or you don't that doesn't matter, all that matters is how I was feeling at the time. And if you ask Vinny he will say 'but you said lets just go to Rosses' ...and yes that was my mistake...I said it at the time where it was 7.45pm and we had to sacrifice doing some things we had planned to do cos we just clearly could not get everything done...and since I got the impression that he was annoyed at me I wanted to make him happy and sacrifice my shopping time at ala moana to go to Rosses for him. (He would say we had a very low budget aswell but he doesn't believe me when I say I can find something worthwhile without spending a whole lot of money...its a girls instinct.) So off to Rosses we go, with hardly any time to spend I try to get there as fast as we can but he slows me down and wants to take his time.

Rosses was nice, don't get me wrong I got nothing against shopping there (i even found me a pretty top to wear) its just....if I had a choice between that and a mall...the mall would be the first choice for sure.


(thats me in the middle with the top I bought at Rosses :P) Anyway moving on with the story we pick up our photo's, buy visine for vinny's eyes cos they were really badly itching. We then eat at some hawaiian burger place which had awesomely yummy burgers and ALL YOU CAN EAT fries!! AND bottomless drinks!!!!! I thought I was in heaven lol.


We sit down and he then probably felt it safe for him to tell me wat was annoying him, which I wished he could have told me earlier and would've saved me a whole lot of hassel. Firstly it was me revising our budget when we had already planned it before we came here...okay fine. Secondly I was taking off everywhere to get everything done I wasn't slowing down to take in the fresh polluted city air and the great views of the cars passing by..ya know...being in the moment with a grumpy husband. I get wot he is saying, but for all you husbands out there who have these similar feelings... DONT WAIT, just pull us aside and tell us, dont wait and make me wonder the whole night what is bothering you, it just sucks and if you have a problem say it to me sooner rather than later so that our night doesnt get ruined over something that could have been avoided.

So I took it all in so that next time I know what to do to not annoy him, and as far as dinner was concerned we both had a blast. It was only later when we got to the bus earlier than we expected and I was soooo bloated and full I couldnt walk any further where as he wanted to walk his dinner off and I was like no way! Then as we got on the bus he sat at the back by the window but I thought it only fair that since he sat by the window last time that I sit there this time so I ask him to move and he refused and i was like so annoyed!! All he does is point to the seat next to him and was like 'take a seat', that was it! I just didn't have much patience for him much more so I sat all the way on the other side of the back seat next to the opposite window. I realized I had the ipod so I switched it on and fell to sleep most of the way home. I guess I had just had such a rocky night that I really needed my own space, I started to imagin how peaceful it would be to just to curl up on the couch with my own blanket and my own pillow and teddy called Tweety and fall to sleep, so thats exactly what I did when we got home. We hadn't said anything since the whole window incident and I just grabbed my blanket and pillow and teddy and slept out on the couch. It was the first time I had ever voluntarily slept in a different bed to him(while in the same house). The only other time we slept apart in the same house was when we had a big argument in our studio apartment and I made him sleep on the floor hehe. I think everyone has experienced it before and im just keepin it real wit you bout our relationship, we are just a normal couple that has there good and bad moments ya know.

Well anyway there it is, our first night out and wat a rollercoaster of a ride that was. We have now since had our second date night and let me tell you it was a million times better than the first thats for sure. I guess the good thing about having a sort of sucky first date night is the fact that its so much easier to make the next one a lot better. I deffinitley look forward to what we are gunna do next time!

Thursday, April 8, 2010

First Outing with OCD Queen!

Okay so I am now HAPPILY re-united with my husband in Hawaii and loving it. I arrived friday morning and Vinny was able to pick me up in his friends car. The weekend was awesome, we spent all day friday together, and part of saturday (vinny had work) then all day sunday together cos it was general conference weekend. By sunday we were looking forward to Monday because we were starting to feel claustrophobic just the two of us in our studio apartment, his face was practically the only face i'd seen all weekend...it was just getting a bit much for me (and probably him). So due to personal reasons I will mention my work as being in "Jeanne's world" or "jeanne land"....if you are confused as to why I may explain at a later date, but for now thats just how Im going to refer to it.

So in Jeanne's world she likes to go out every Tuesdays, I have only been in Jeanne Land since monday and tuesday came way too quickly for me to get use to her yet and so now I'm freaking out because I have to spend one on one time with her and take her everywhere she wants to go, I was so nervous. I was told that 'usually' she tells me where she wants to go Monday so I have a whole day to map quest etc... But at the end of monday she just said we were going up the Northshore and said something about the hospital.

Everything seemed good to go Tuesday morning, we took off to the hospital, thank goodness for Lindsay cos I knew exactly where to park to get her into her wheelchair, I knew to wheel her into the office while I go back outside and park the car, then go into the emergency entrance office to pick up paperwork for miss Jeanne to fill out and sign. It all seemed smooth sailing, but it didnt quite turn out the way I had hoped it would. Firstly, when I parked I hadn't parked close enough to the ramp for Jeanne to get into her wheelchair so she was totally annoyed with me about that. Next she wanted to wait and watch me park the car, probably to make sure I had done it right. As I was driving to the parking lot I realized she had pressed the hazard lights on the car and I had no idea how to turn them off! I panicked and called Lindsay on hur cell but realized that would be no use so I just tried to figure it out on my own. I opened the door and heard Jeanne yelling from the hospital entrance "ON THE RIGHT OF THE STEERING WHEEL!!!" Okay thanks a lot Jeanne.

Next thing I take Jeanne into the entrance office while I go around to the emergency entrance for her paperwork. Then Jeanne demands that the "head technician" be the one to draw the blood sample since she has no easily visible veins. When the nurse comes Jeanne demands "are you the head technician?" the nurse says "no Miss Rand but I have done you before" she thinks for a bit and is like "oh...okay...but I would much prefer the head technician, you see these arms they have no veins ya know, the last nurse poked me 16 times and still could not find the vein". The nurse took it like a pro and was like "you will be safe with me, you will be out in no time". I wheel her into the tiny room and wait for the nurse to fill out last minute paperwork, Jeanne comments "you know I don't know if you are allowed to stay during this procedure, Lindsay was not allowed to stay" I'm actually relieved to hear that and happily leave her in the room waiting for the nurse.

It is over in 5 minutes and she hasn't confirmed to me what we are doing next. She comes out and is like "we need to hurry to catch the turtle bay breakfast" and I'm thinking well gee thanks for confirming with me earlier about this (although I already knew because Lindsay told me, but it bugged me to have Jeanne keep me guessing like this all the time). We go thru security and he gives us a parking ticket that we needed to validate before we leave. She takes it from me and is like "here I will hold it for you for now since its your first day and you dont know what you are doing, but after this I expect you to know how to do these things and I will not be doing them for you" Thanks for the heads up :P

We get to the breakfast buffet and Im pushing her everywhere while she is holding her plate thinking about what else she wants to pile on her plate, she says 'take me to the quiches' in my mind im thinking duuude I told you I've never been here before I don't know where they are! She points to the right and I take her, she then says "take me to the scrambled eggs" duude once again I dont knowwwww! She points to the left and I take her to what I think are the scrambled eggs. We then take a seat at a table and shes pretty sweet by then since shez got her food n all, shez just like "now you can go and get your plate, and remember you can have anything you want and as much as you want". Its sorta cute she sounds like she is talking to her grandchild, i guess literally I could be her grandchild but definitely glad that im not!!!

We then get outta there and I'm thinking well she hasn't mentioned what we are going to do next so we must be going home...wrong, once we go through all the shenanigans of getting her into the car (it was a long stressful process since everybody chose to check in at that time so cars were blocking the ramp she uses to get get from her wheelchair into the car. She was so upset with the whole ordeal she told me not to tip the valle man, oh well he misses out on 2 bux :P

She then says we should take a drive down to Sunset beach, there is a nursery she wants to have a look at...Little did I know it would change and once we passed Sunset beach she is like "look for Sunset Elementary, we can take our recycling there" (once again, the guessing game begins). I tell her I don't know where that is and she is like 'oh dont worry its coming somewhere on the left hand side. Gee that helps alot. Anyway she tells me to slow down cos its coming up 'pretty soon' but it was annoying because we were in a 35mile zone going 20miles an hour so I was was like 'no jeanne it isn't coming up' she is like 'yes it is' im like "no its not, we are not in the school zone yet, the signs will tell us once we are inside the school zone and that we need to go 25miles an hour" she signs and says under her breath 'ahwell i hope you know wat your talking about' Two minutes later LO and BEHOLD the 25mile an hour School Zone road sign came up and she is like 'ahh i guess your right' Yep thanx, thats one hurdle under my belt, im ready for the next challenge!

We go to the recycling windows and I start dropping the bottles in, I tell her I've never done this before, I then start dropping them in. Next thing i hear her yelling from the car "Take the bottle tops off! Take the bottle tops off!" She wasn't content until I had to show her every bottle to let her know that there was no bottle top on it, I then dropped it into the window. Recycling down, one more step closer to returning home!

I get in the car and I think we are going home because to the best of my knowledge we are done...I know we usually do shopping Tuesdays but she never specifically told me, its my first day remember. So once I start heading to the main road she is like "now we are going to make a left and go to the foodland at sunset beach and pick up a few things" guessing game again...thanks for the warning. Lucky for me I know where foodland is.

So we get into foodland and I get a trolley, she then tells me that "Lindsay usually pushes me as well as the shopping cart, I don't know how your going to do it but you can figure it out im sure". Oh man that had to top it off, I was truly relieved that this was going to be a short day because pushing Jeanne as well as dragging the shopping cart behind me was a skill I quickly learnt and one I hope I don't have to use ever again. Besides the fact that she isn't the smallest old lady but she buys so many groceries it could feed me and my husband for a month! My arms and legs wur so sore afterwards because it was just the millions of times she wanted to stop and look at a product then go again, once we were moving it was fine because of momentum, it was just the starting and stopping that I had to use all my effort. Now I understand why Lindsay says she just cannot take her out anymore, even I was having difficulty and I'm not even pregnant!

The one enjoyable thing I got out of going to foodland was all the workers looking at me and smiling, they knew who she was and must've guessed I was the newby and probly had a lot to learn. So it made me smile to see them smiling at me, dunno why i guess it was just comforting to know that others around me are familiar with the Jeanne Rand traits and that I will somehow make it out alive, after all I'm not the first one to be in Jeanne's World.

After that we get Starbucks, Jeanne clearly let them know that I was not allowed anything with coffee in it and to give me the menu of all 'non coffee' drinks I could choose. We then make the trek home and each minute I'm getting happier and happier. yay in half an hour its going to be over and I can go home and have a nice long rest with the nice cool fan beating down on me! Hopefully next Tuesday will be a better day....