Sunday, November 14, 2010

I'll have the Fillet Mignon

Well I think I have been pretty good at maintaining a once a month post! I really wish i could write more often but when i see other blogs and their abundance of pictures to go along with their stories i think woah mines nothing like that! So what do i do before I start this post...go into fb and copy vinny's most recent pictures of us and paste them into a folder so I can stick them on this post haha so lame...

Whats new? Well I am probably going to jinx myself now for mentioning it but work has been great (tomorow may hold a whole different story but we shall worry about that when tomorow comes). According to Jeanne (via Nancy) I am 'finally getting it'...I wouldn't exactly say it in those words myself. I like to think of it as 'my work is finally paying off'. After months of trying to figure out the way Jeanne likes things to be done and learning from my mistakes I feel like I am being rewarded some gold medal for my efforts. I do try really hard to take care of the plants, make sure I have the shopping list down, filing cabinet memorized from contracts to medical to insurance. It doesn't sound like much to know but everything is so detailed and I have had to learn how to be a detailed person.

Okay enough about work I am excited to write about the night Vinny wanted to take me out somewhere special...So the whole week (I think last week) he was saying don't worry I have it all planned out, I have made reservations and everything you just worry about dressing up and I will take care of the rest. Friday comes and Im so excited, it doesnt even bother me that I just worked a full day and I wont get a chance to rest before going out (which is what i would preferably like to do on any other friday night). We get in the car and Im so excited I just want to know where we are going already, so i ask where is it and all he says is punchbowl. I am familiar with that street since it is where I use to intern at the governors office, I know that its not a street lined with restaurants so my mind starts working...I finally think i got it and ask him its Ruths Chris Steakhouse! He was like 'how did you know?!' and little did he know it was a place I had been dying to go to for years now and every single time I drove past it along punchbowl (on the corner of alamoana blvd) I would just stare at it like a kid passing a candy store, I wanted so badly to go there but knew it was wayyyy outta my budget range, (can I loathe the fact that some people can just go there as if it was some sort of mcdonalds and order the fillet mignon as if they were ordering from the dollar menu?)



So here we are, but the ride to Ruths Chris was should I say much more different than actually being in Ruths Chris (which is not what I intended but you will realize why in a minute). Im over the moon excited to eat, Im staring lovingly into my husbands eyes (as he drives lol) thinking he is the sweetest thing that ever walked the earth for treating me to such a costly restaurant (as poor married students these kinda occasions are only saved for anniversaries or when your rich relatives just happen to be in town and treat you...but since when did we have rich relatives?) Knowing full well how much the meal will cost (equivalent to one return trip to the Big Island). We walk in the restaurant, its super classy, waitstaff are super friendly (i felt like a con artist, they think we are high rollerz but little did they kno we are poor college students just about to spend our years savings for an 8 ounce steak and some veges I could've bought at foodland for a 10th of their price). Waiter gives us our menus, Vinny takes one look and goes "omg this is way more than I expected to pay".I knew he really was caught off guard by the pricing cos he couldnt think properly after that. It was like his mind was somewhere else, he probably immediatly went into survival mode and started making calculations in his head 'okay if order just a steak, no potatoes or vegez and skip the drink that will leave me with...." Okay I have to admit I was a little bit bummed when I realized it was outta his budget, cos I thought he would've atleast tried to do his research since this was suppose to be a special night which to me equals extra effort to make it perfect. I understand that both of us have not eaten here before and he should be let off the hook for not knowing the prices, so after a few minutes I tried to cheer him up a bit and reassure him that we can afford it for this one night (and i mean ONE and ONLY night).

It went awesome, we enjoyed our amazingly delish fillet mignon and creamed spinach and sweet potato casserole (which tasted like a decadent dessert for a nice cold winter night, even though it was meant for the potatoes part of the main meal not the dessert). The sweet potato casserole was so rich and sweet and creamy and it made your insides warm with every bite, not to mention the steak ofcourse, it was super tender and cooked to perfection. We were so excited when the food came that we forgot to take pictures of it...although to be honest I was a little self concious about taking so many photos around other high rollerz that were use to this sort of treatment lol, we probly wouldve looked like some japanese tourists in a foreign country taking pictures of everything from the glass of water to the silverware...we wouldnt wana blow our cover and come accross as amateurs now, so pictures were kept to a minimum.

What I loved about the night was we were able to overcome discouragments with optimism and didnt let that ruin the whole night which was meant to be special. I don't mind if another occasion like this doesnt come up till another year or two, Im glad to say we experienced it, and it was awesome! I have the most awesome husband in the whole world! I love you babe.

No comments:

Post a Comment